Name:

Kevin Ladd is director of the Wallisville Heritage Park at Wallisville, Chambers County, TX and lives in Hardin, TX. He is chairman of the Liberty County Historical Commission and writes for "Texas Illustrated," a monthly publication of the Liberty Gazette newspaper, which is devoted to local history and folklore.

Monday, July 31, 2006

The Original Grantees - Green B. Jameson

Although some records incorrectly give the survey bearing his name the "Jamison" spelling for his surname, other records suggest that it was actually spelled Green B. Jameson. He was born in Kentucky about 1807 and found himself in Texas early. By October 1830, Green was in San Felipe de Austin where he was practicing law. Historians say he may have moved briefly to Brazoria County some time before 1836. The young man eventually fell in with James Bowie and served the latter as an aide. He also is referred to as the chief engineer for the doomed Texian garrison at the Alamo. While at that famous bastion, Jameson supervised the remounting of the guns and the general strengthening of the garrison's defenses. He was killed along with the other defenders of the Alamo on March 6, 1836. The survey bearing his name in Chambers County was actually patented to his heirs, but this came several decades after his death. The State of Texas granted a donation certificate for 640 acres in 1851 to Jameson and his heirs for his having fallen in the Alamo. The tract was located in what is now Chambers County and was finally patented to the heirs on Dec. 17, 1873. Although he never lived here, Green B. Jameson's name will live forever in Texas history and makes a fascinating story. This survey was located along the north-eastern shore of Turtle Bay and was bordered on the northwest by Turtle Bayou.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home